Best Publication Award

Win a free registration for the Annual Meeting in Glasgow!

Applicants must be students or early career scientists (within 2 years from PhD graduation or within 5 years from MSc graduation, if from industry). The awards are presented at the SETAC Europe annual meeting and the article must have been published or accepted for publication in a peer-reviewed journal in the calendar year prior to the meeting. This award is made available by:

  • AstraZeneca Award for the best publication in risk assessment, modelling and theoretical studies.
  • Eurofins Award for the best publication in chemical analysis and environmental monitoring.
  • RifCon Award for the best publication in ecotoxicology, ecoepidemiology and biological/biochemical studies

How to apply for the best publication award? Submit your paper (if more than one paper has been accepted or published in the evaluation period, select the paper you consider to be the best). Only ONE paper per candidate will be accepted. If the article is not published in English, an English translation must accompany the candidate’s application.

Applicants are requested to submit

  1. a copy of the submitted paper with details of the publishing journal and confirmation of acceptance. personal information (home address and contact information: telephone number and email address) and a brief curriculum vitae, including date of birth.
  2. details of the sponsoring institution together with a statement signed by the supervisor confirming that the article submitted for the award has been primarily written by the candidate and that he or she performed main parts of the research reported.

If you are the selected candidate, you will receive

  1. an invitation to the upcoming SETAC Europe Annual Meeting.
  2. reimbursement of travel costs (up to 800 EURO will be made available by Astra Zeneca Brixham Environmental Laboratories)
  3. free registration for the meeting (offered by SETAC Europe)
  4. opportunity to present the work, either as a poster or as a platform presentation

The application must reach the SETAC office or the chair of the Awards Committee no later than 31 December.

View the list of previous award winners.

Contact the SETAC office for more information and applications, or Tania Alvarez, the Chair of the SETAC Europe Awards Committee.